Top 5 – New 52

Well, we’re a little over half a year into DC’s New 52. As seen a few weeks ago, we know which titles are going to be cancelled in order to make room for new ones, and keep that magic number of 52 titles. But right now, I’ll be giving you my picks for the best of the 52 in a segment I’d like to call Top 5 (yeah it’s a little boring, I’ll try and come up with something else).

#5 – Resurrection Man

Before this title, I knew nothing about Mitch Shelley except that when he dies, he comes back with a new power, but that’s okay because it became very apparent in the first issue that Shelley knew nothing about himself except for that. The book was not a hard sell for me; Andy Lanning and Dan Abnett were working on it, I couldn’t go wrong and neither can you.

Mitch has been dying constantly in the last five issues, giving him a new power every time, which he puts to use in some pretty imaginative ways. Right from the start, Shelley has had no time to catch his breath. He’s had to deal with vengeful angels and sexy super powered killers, all while trying to figure who he is.

"This power SUUUUUUUUUUCKS!"

This is NOT a superhero book! This is a book of non-stop visceral action, which brings us to our next title…

#4 –  All Star Western

This is a comic book version of a “buddy cop” movie. What sets it apart is it’s tremendously violent, director of badassery, Jonah Hex. The book takes place in Gotham City during the 1880’s where Hex has been unfortunately paired up with none other than Amadeus Arkham (I actually don’t know which one of them it’s more unfortunate for, Hex for having to listen to Arkham’s whiny ass, or Arkham for always being threatened to be killed by Hex).

Now, I wasn’t a huge fan of westerns growing up, but I really wish someone would have put some Jonah Hex in my hands sooner; Not literally of course, if he were real, I imagine him not being very clean to the touch.

If you pick this book up, you’ll get to watch people frantically trying to shoot at Jonah Hex while he puts them down with nothing but a stare from his handsomely sculpted face.

"I know what you like."

#3 – Swamp Thing

Like Mitch Shelley from Resurrection Man, I knew very little about Dr. Alec Holland. He shows up in the first issue, resurrected and fully human, with only his memories of his time as Swamp Thing.

Scott Snyder takes this as an opportunity to introduce Swamp Thing to a new generation and explain much of the greater mythology connected to the character. I can’t wait for Alec Holland to hopefully take on his role as Swamp Thing once again, and reclaim his role as one of DC’s unstoppable power houses (did I mention that, physical attacks mean nothing to him, since he can just regrow himself).

"I said the 'the tree'! I don't even look like Swamp Thing right now!"

#2 – Aquaman

The butt of many jokes in the DCU, so how did he make it to #2 on the list? Because, he’s a bad ass mother fucker! Or “BAMF” if you prefer. I’ve heard people mutter “How’s talking to fish going to save anyone on land?”, but they don’t understand just how powerful Aquaman is. Think about how much strength it must take to just move through the deepest parts of the ocean, even just surviving there is a feat on it’s own. Now if he takes that on land, without the pressure and weight of the ocean, that translates to some crazy super strength.

"Are you stupid? Of course I eat fish! Do you see any cows in the ocean?"

From the first issue, this book has been a great example of how Aqauman gets absolutely no respect from the public, despite his displays “BAMFitude” (let’s see if that word catches on now). The more I read it though, the more I get the feeling Aquaman doesn’t really care about what is said about him.  He doesn’t even respond to the unabashed rudeness of the police, or people he saves, he just has an aura of a have you seen my wife? It doesn’t matter what you think attitude. Mera is another great highlight to the comic. Aquaman’s warrior queen sorceress, kicks just as much ass as he does, which equates to 22 pages of a royal couple getting their hands dirty, and fucking stuff up.

"I seem to be lost... in a giant... litter box?

#1 – Batman

Before the release of this book, Scott Snyder Worked on Detective Comics, and told the definitive “Dick Grayson as Batman” story. Expectations were high when it was announced he would be working on this historic title, and they have been absolutely exceeded.

Although Gotham is Batman’s city, the story Snyder is telling lets us know that there is something in Gotham who’s claws reach into places Batman has never imaged could be penetrated. He is facing an enemy he doesn’t believe exists, a old, dangerous enemy named The Court of Owls, that not only has it out for The Dark Knight, but also Bruce Wayne. I write this as I anxiously await issue #6, due to the surprising and disturbing nature of the previous one. By the end of it, it had left me hoisting my jaw from the floor, and even then, the only sounds I could express were expletives of astonishment while preparing myself for a second read.

An interesting element to the arc has been how Snyder weaves a bit of Gotham’s history into the story. He has found a way make the history relevant to the lives of the Waynes, and even to the current survival of Bruce.

"I don't always cry, but when I do, it's about my parents."

This story has the makings of an instant classic. It will lead into an event titled Night of Owls, which will run across all of the bat books, including BatgirlNightwingBatman and RobinBirds of PreyCatwomanBatwing, and Red Hood and the Outlaws. We will even see a the history of  The Court of Owls during the late 1800’s in All Star Western. 

If there’s only one book you pick up from the New 52, let it be Batman, you wont be disappointed.

@ThatAlexReyes

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment